Vegan Reading

The first book I read that talked about vegansim may have been Skinny Bitch, but the first one Iread where I knew going into it that it was a vegan book was Vegan: The New Ethics of Eating by Erik Marcus and Howard Lyman.  Not to use eating puns so soon in this blog, but I absolutely devoured this book.  There’s no better word for it.  I read it in about two days and as soon as I finished I wanted to know more and more. 

The first sentence in the Amazon write up sums the book up quite nicely, “Hard-hitting and factually based, this book outlines the health, ethical, and ecological reasons for adopting a vegan lifestyle.”  Pretty simple really.  What I personally liked about this book is that there was no sensationalizing of the issues.  Everything was presented in a calm, level-headed manner that I respect.  There were no heart-wrenching, vomit-inducing tales of animal slaughter or claims of bovine-flatulence induced armageddon (although what a good story that would make, am I right?).  Instead, what I got from the book was information which I could process easily and use to make my own decision about becomming a vegan.  And here I am, so there’s something to be said for that.

What I personally took away most from the book were the health benefits to being vegan, many of which I was not already aware, or realized the extent.  However, I also learned a great deal about the business of industrialized farming and how it is negatively affecting millions of animals, as well as our envirnoment.  For a rather thin book and easy read, the authors cover many hot topics of veganism clearly and concisely, and for this reason (and more) I think Vegan is the perfect book to start with for aspiring vegans (like myself) or anyone curious about the lifestyle.

You can find Vegan: The New Ethics of Eating at Amazon, Borders and many other book-sellers and visit the authors’ website at www.vegan.com.

~ by Allison on June 21, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
