Family Support

I moved back in with my mom this year because I resigned from my job and went traveling for two months. Since I got back in the country I’ve been living with her and job searching. My mom and I get along great so it has actually been kind of fun being back home after a few years on my own. However, for a while it made me put my vegan aspirations on hold. It was hard for me to justify making two different meals when there are only two of you eating to begin with.

Recently, due to some family occurrences, I have been on my own for meals a lot more and this has enabled me to choose to eat vegan more frequently. It has allowed me to get more serious about it, and my mom has taken note. And I have taken note of how lucky I am to have her as a mom. When she goes grocery shopping she often times comes home with some vegany food just for me. Most recently she surprised me with some chocolate Tofutti ice “cream” and TVP (Textured Vegetable Protein), something that I hadn’t even heard of yet. It is so nice to have this kind of support for what I’m doing. I don’t even have to give an explanation for my choice, she just trusts that I am smart enough to make the best decision and she just gets it. I love my mom.

~ by Allison on June 22, 2008.

2 Responses to “Family Support”

  1. Having the support of your family is wonderful! Not everyone has the opportunity. I’m very lucky myself to have support of my parents. I moved back in with them last year to catch up on my finances, and they’ve been great.

    TVP can be fun! πŸ™‚ I’ve made tacos, pasta sauces, lasagnas, all sorts of things with it. I’ve gotten lazier about cooking as time has gone on, so now I just tend to pick up pre-made “grounds” substitute. TVP can come in big chunks, or made like ground meats.

    I just clicked on that Wikipedia link, now I want sloppy joes! πŸ˜€

    Yay for supportive Moms!

    • i know. i feel very fortunate. my mom has always been into trying new foods anyway. i remember when i was little we went through a crazy fruit faze where she brought home papayas and mangoes and other things i can’t even remember. then there was the tofu faze where she started cooking things with what i thought of at the time as “those weird jiggly white blocks”. looking back on it, i realize how fun that was.

      i’m about to go make tacos with some leftover TVP in the fridge! yummy.

Leave a Reply

 
