New Mike Judge Cartoon Depicts Vegan Family

I just ran across a write-up of a new TV show to premiere on ABC this fall. It’s by Beavis and Butthead creator Mike Judge.

The Goode Family – Set to premiere in November on ABC, this new Mike Judge creation centers on an obsessively “green” family who live an over-the-top politically correct lifestyle. Vegan eating, hybrid-driving, and recycling are par for the course for the Goodes, but the kids and dog the aren’t exactly enthusiastic about their way of life. Daughter Bliss often disagrees with her parents viewpoints and pokes holes in their tree-hugging worldviews, while the dog, who is by force also a vegan, craves meat and tries to eat the other neighborhood pets. At a time when the world seems to be returning the ass-kicking we’ve been giving it since the birth of the industrial revolution, a new Judge show poking fun at the green migration is sure to hit the spot. (Source: Crave Online)

As someone new to a vegan lifestyle, I am wondering what other vegans will think about a show like this.  I personally always think it’s best to laugh at yourself, so I’d like to give it a chance.  Maybe a show like this will not just make fun of “tree-hugging” families but also make a point about the necessity of everyone becoming more environmentally conscious.  Possibly some political satire in the vein of The Colbert Report or South Park?  If anything, it could bring publicity to the issues.

What’s your opinion on such a show?  Will this hurt or help the vegan/environment friendly community?

~ by Allison on June 24, 2008.

5 Responses to “New Mike Judge Cartoon Depicts Vegan Family”

  1. I’m afraid, very afraid! Especially since its going to be comical. I’m all for laughing at ones self, but unless the writers know what the heck they’re talking about it’s not going to do wonders for breaking stereotypes or correcting misconceptions.

    I hadn’t heard about this yet, thanks πŸ™‚

    • Yea, I think it’ll be interesting to see where it falls politically. I’ll also be interested in my own reactions to it, considering I’m so new to this. At this point I think I could still look at it objectively from an outsiders point of view, but by the time it airs I will (hopefully) consider myself an actual vegan and could have a totally different outlook.

      • Especially right now, more and more people are “going green” and making out those who take it seriously as obsessive and extreme probably isn’t the best deal right now.

        Bleh, I’d just like to see some POSITIVE programming about saving the environment. πŸ˜€ Wanting to save our only planet to live on isn’t an extreme thought to me. πŸ˜€

  2. I just found a video about it!

    http://uncivilsociety.org/2008/05/the-goode-familyanimated-satir.html

    I’m more scared now than before. πŸ˜€ That dog, all skinny and malnourished looking heh. Lovely.. “All vegans are starved!”

    • Cool, thanks for posting that link. After seeing that I am more unsure how I feel about it. It does just seem like they might be cracking on liberal families. But from a different perspective, I guess there’s been enough shows about hillbilly southern families, this may not be quite so different. Same snark, different subject. Unfortunately, in the long run it could put a bad spin on being environmentally savvy.

Leave a Reply

 
