Weekend Warrior

This long holiday weekend is going to mark a lot of firsts for this new vegan girl. Tomorrow I have a family cookout at our lake house so I am trying to plan for that. I know they will just have hot dogs and hamburgers, so I’m going to bring some meatless skewers (Edit: Turns out the meatless skewers are not vegan, so I bought the vegan Italian sausages instead.) and a veggie burger for the grill. I think I may also try to make the Mediterranean Pasta Salad from Skinny Bitch in the Kitch. That way I can share what I’m bringing with everyone and have something for me to eat as well. I’m not sure if I should bring anything else. I’m hoping people will be bringing veggie or fruit platters. There’s usually so much delicious food around, this is really going to be a big test for me!

I also know I’m going to have to endure the questions from family members I rarely ever see. I think last time I saw them was August when I wasn’t even a hint of a vegetarian. We’ll see how it goes.

Then on Saturday I am my friend’s “date” to the wedding of a friend of hers from college. She has no idea what the food situation is going to be, so I will be toting the vegan’s best friend – PB&J! If anything I’ll eat the appropriate side dishes and steal off to the car for some sandwich lovin’ after the meal. Scandalous! Another temptation will of course be awaiting me later – the wedding cake. I have not yet had to stare down a piece of cake and say no. I just have to keep reminding myself that it’s not worth it and I will be saving myself from so many empty calories too!

I am kind of nervous about being around so many “strangers” this weekend where I may have to explain and defend my lifestyle choice. However, I am also excited to be let out into the real world to see how I do. If I can make it through a wedding and a family gathering, I think anything else will be a breeze.

Any pointers from seasoned vegans about surviving these situations?

Happy 4th of July everyone!

~ by Allison on July 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
