I just can’t handle all the exciting excitement!

Today I am blogging from my new workspace at my new job in NYC!  This is my second week and so far it has been great.  I hit the ground running here and have had project after project.  It’s awesome!  My office is in Rockefeller Center and I love walking around the area on my lunch hour.  I’m definitely still in tourist mode.  Earlier today I inadvertently walked through an area where they were taping a scene of Lipstick Jungle and saw Kim Ravier with Kathy Lee Gifford and her cohost on the Today show (the one that airs later in the day).  NBC had signs on the sidewalk that warned that by walking in that area you were consenting to possibly being on TV.  Um, okay!  So then I walked back and forth 8 times.  Kidding.  I only walked by twice because I had to go back to my office that way.  So if you watch that show, which I don’t, keep an eye on the street for a blond girl in a black coat with green scarf and a bright pink umbrella.

News on the vegan-front:

The down side of working in midtown Manhattan is the food options for veg*ns basically suck.  Everything veg-friendly is downtown (lower east and west, the Village, etc.) or more towards the park (at least that from my limited experience).  I recently found out there is a place called "Free Foods" not too far from me, so the next time I decide to splurge on lunch out I’m going to give it a shot.  Mostly I’ve been trying to pack my own lunch because it’s way cheaper and I get sick of eating salads from Tossed in the 30 Rock concourse (one of the only places I’ve found something I can eat).  They do make fab salads, but there’s only so many times you can do salad for lunch.

Last week I went to a book-signing for Sarah Kramer’s new pocket vegan travel guide/cook book Vegan a Go-Go.  It was held at "Moo Shoes" in the lower east side and they had all sorts of vegan food and drinks on hand.  I got to meet Sarah and do a little vegan-shoe window shopping.  It was my first time there and I definitely need to go back.  Over the weekend I made two of the recipes from the new book, I don’t remember their exact names off hand but one was a pumpkin sausage pasta sauce (I know, weird but really tasty) and the other was a quinoa black bean dish.  I love both of them and am really happy to have the leftovers in my freezer!

And the most exciting vegan news I have?  A friend and I are flying to California on November 21st to visit her family and go to Farm Sanctuary’s "Celebration FOR the Turkeys" on the 22nd!!  I am so ridiculously excited about this, mostly because I can’t wait to meet all the animals at the farm and have a vegan Thanksgiving for the first time, but also because Emily Deschanel is going to be there!  She is one of the speakers at the dinner and it will be so amazing to hear her talk about veganism and Farm Sanctuary in person.  I hope I get to shake her hand and tell her how much she inspires me to be a better vegan.

Well, that’s it for now.  Today is my birthday so I’m having a dinner with friends at a Japanese restaurant in midtown later.  I’m really looking forward to some veggie sushi, terriyaki tofu and edemame!

How is everyone else?

~ by Allison on November 13, 2008.

14 Responses to “I just can’t handle all the exciting excitement!”

  1. Awesome that you’re flying out to Cali and seeing Emily. I really hope you get to meet her – she’s such a doll. You’ll definitely have to give us a recap when you get back and tell us how it was. And take pictures! 🙂

    Have you checked out SuperVegan’s NYC Resturant Guide? I was sure that there are more places in your area than that.

    http://supervegan.com/restaurants.php

    Are you going to Farm Sanctuary’s “Winter Wonderland” in NY on Dec 4th? I’ll be there, volunteering 🙂

    I’m also volunteering at Woodstock Farm Animal Sanctuary’s ThanksLiving dinner next weekend. Rory Freedman is going to be there and I’m really hoping to meet her. I had actually run into her at last years Farm Sanctuary Gala – but didn’t know who she was back then :p

    • I have checked out SuperVegan and there are a few places, but nothing really too convenient to run to during lunch hour. Maybe I have to search better. 🙂

      I’m not going to Winter Wonderland because I shouldn’t spend the money after going to Cali. How did you get the volunteer opportunity can you still sign up? I’d love to do some volunteering at something like that or other related animal rights events. I’ve been planning on searching out an organization to do steady volunteer work for.

  2. Happy birthday! I hope you had a lovely day and dinner out.

    I have to say, I am envious of your new NYC life! It sounds good (though I know everything has it’s down-side).

    Have fun at Farm Sanctuary, too. 🙂

  3. […] November: Started my new job. HAPPY  BIRTHDAY TO ME! Went to Farm Sanctuary’s Thanksgiving FOR the Turkeys in Orland, CA. Met Emily Deschanel! Had a Furkey Tofurky. (Yea, November was a good month.) […]

  4. Great site, I have added this page to my social bookmarks

Leave a Reply

 
