This cleanse makes me want to watch Quantum Leap

Yesterday I picked up the latest book from Kathy Freston, author of Quantum Wellness (Otherwise known as the book and person that made Oprah a vegan for a brief time, something she clearly did not take to. See previous post).  Her new book The Quantum Wellness Cleanse is a guide to completing her 3 week challenge, which entails cutting caffeine, sugar, gluten, alcohol and animal products from your diet for that time period.

Sam and Al will PUMP! you up.

Sam and Al will PUMP! you up.

Now, I figure since I already don’t eat animal products, I rarely ingest caffeine and I am only a social drinker, doing this cleanse should pretty much be a breeze (which is probably why I think it is a great idea).  I also think my body could use a break from the amount of pasta and bread I tend to subject it to on a regular basis.

So far I have read the introduction which is a brief overview of what the cleanse entails (abstaining, meditating), how you will feel at first (like shit) and the benefits (losing weight, feeling better, more energy, cleaning house).  After that it seems each chapter is devoted to a day of the cleanse, explaining the reasons for giving up things like coffee and providing guidance on how to get through the detox phase.  There are also tips on meditating, a shopping list, recipes, encouragement, etc.  Personally, I already want to skip ahead to the chapter that tells me what I can drink at the bar that will make it appear that there is actually a reason for me to be acting like a drunken fool.

Anyway, for the three days before you start the cleanse it tells you to journal everything you eat and how you feel before and after it.  So I thought I might do that here.

An artist rendering of what detoxing might look like.

An artist rendering of what detoxing might look like.

Totally kidding.  No, I will not do that here.  No one wants to hear about how I had apples and cinnamon oatmeal for breakfast this morning and after I felt like Jesus himself had laid his hand upon me (true story).  What I may actually do is write about my experience with the cleanse after it is complete.  As a vegan, my experience will probably differ from the norm a bit since I have already had the animal product detox back in June.  However, I am interested in seeing how taking away sugar, gluten and the occasional alcoholic beverage will make me feel.  Hopefully the same as some apples and cinnamon oatmeal. mmm.

We’ll see.

~ by Allison on May 8, 2009.

6 Responses to “This cleanse makes me want to watch Quantum Leap”

  1. […] Original post by Allison […]

  2. I had read Quantum Wellness right after I read Skinny Bitch and me and Maria had thought that the cleanse would be a perfect way to jump into veganism. Once we actually realized everything we were giving up, though, we decided against it. It was just too much to deal with at once.

    But now, since I’m pretty good with the whole vegan deal, I think I may want to give it a shot at some point. You can be like the guinea pig. I’d definitely love to know how it works out for you.

    • Haha, yea i don’t think i could do everything at once. i’m trying to imagine what it would have been like to also try giving up sugar and bread when i went vegan and it doesn’t look pretty. lol i guess that’s part of the point of the cleanse though.

  3. […] Are you a Veggie Thing? City Search has launched a new site called Veggie Thing that highlights “Vegan Eats for Food Lovers!” People can send in pictures of the food from their favorite restaurants (along with a review) and visitors can search for vegan nosh by city and type of cuisine. Fair warning though, looking at the site will make you drool and short out your keyboard.  (It is also not advisable to spend too much time on this site while trying to stick to your aforementioned cleanse.) […]

  4. […] to put over the pasta anyway.  I also used rice pasta instead of regular pasta because (as noted here) I’m doing the Kathy Freston Quantum Wellness […]

  5. […] Blogged my face off! Met some of the authors of my favorite eco, veg bloggins. Cleansed with Kathy […]

Leave a Reply

 
