What the hell is chorizo and what do I do with it?

That is basically the question I asked myself after I grabbed a package of Trader Joe’s soy chorizo and brought it home.  (Hey, it said vegan and gluten free, how could I pass it up?!)  I’m really glad I did too because I ended up finding a really easy and tasty recipe. The original posting can be found here, but since it was actually one of the comments to the main blog , I have re-posted it below:

INGREDIENTS
3 tbsp oil
2 tbsp butter (I did not use even close to this much butter or oil.)
1 small onion, chopped small
1 small shallot, chopped small
1 small carrot, finely diced
1 celery stalk ,finely diced
100g chorizo sausage, sliced and quartered (I used half of the soy chorizo package)
1/2 small yellow pepper, deseeded and diced
4 torn basil leaves (I used a frozen basil cube like you can buy at Trader Joes)
40ml red wine
500g penne pasta (I think this is actually too much pasta.  I’d say about 1/2 to 3/4 of a box is sufficient.)

DIRECTIONS

Heat oil and butter, add onion, shallot, carrot & celery and cook on low for 4 mins.

Mix well then add chorizo, pepper and basil.

Brown over medium heat for 3-4 mins, adding red wine after about 2 mins.

Meanwhile, cook pasta al dente and drain.

Put pasta onto plate, spoon sausage and vegetable mixture over the top.

Done!

Pasta with vegan chorizo

Pasta with vegan chorizo

Note: This recipe is technically intended for actual chorizo, but substituting with the soy version did not seem to make much difference.  The only thing that I noticed is the brand I bought just crumbled as soon as I took it out of the package. So it ends up more like a meat sauce than sliced sausage, which I think is actually better to put over the pasta anyway.  I also used rice pasta instead of regular pasta because (as noted here) I’m doing the Kathy Freston Quantum Wellness cleanse.

And for those who have no idea what chorizo is (like me), here’s its Wikipedia page.

~ by Allison on May 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
