Michael Jackson said “Heal the World” and it looks like we might finally be listening

“Think about the generations and to say we want to make it a better world for our children and our children’s children. So that they know it’s a better world for them; and think that they can make it a better place.”  -Spoken intro to “Heal the World”

I would be remiss in not doing an entry to commemorate the passing of Michael Jackson yesterday.  Not only was he an immensely talented artist, but he used his music to reach across the borders of race, express frustration at our senseless hatred of one another and question the negative impact we are having on the earth (long before being green and eco-friendly was in style).  Although his image has been marred by rumors and allegations that at times seemed to be undeniable, his talent, charity and sheer iconography will hopefully be what lives on the most.

Personally, I have been a fan of Jackson’s music since my aunt first let me have her tape of “Off the Wall.”  I was probably 5 or 6 at the time.  Like most dancers, I have danced my way (both in my basement and on actual stages) though much of his music, my favorite number being a lyrical production to a compilation of his songs choreographed by my dance teachers that ended with “Heal the World.”  I got chills every time we did that dance and still when I watch it on video.  I wish I were able to upload it to share.  Instead, here is the version of “Heal the World” from the 1993 Superbowl, as well as the video for “Earth Song.”  Two songs where Jackson made it clear the way he felt about how we should be treating each other and the world.

~ by Allison on June 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
