Planet Green: 7 Foods So Unsafe Even Farmers Won’t Eat Them

The website SoulPancake tweeted the link to this article yesterday and while I did my retweeting duty, I thought it was important enough to post it on here as well.  I think that as veg*ns we assume that our diet, free of the harmful hormones and chemicals used in the factory farming of animals and animal products, is naturally safe.  We (or at least I) sometimes forget that in this day and age, even “natural” foods and produce can be just as harmful.   So while this list includes things like fish and beef that I don’t eat anyway, there were some items on the list that I do eat that caught me by surprise.  I know as a vegan on a budget I am always trying to weigh which items are worth my time to spend the extra money on for organics.  Lists like this help me to make those decisions.

7 Foods So Unsafe Even Farmers Won’t Eat Them

1. Canned Tomatoes

2. Corn-Fed Beef

3. Microwave Popcorn

4. Conventionally Grown (Not Organic) Potatoes

5. Farmed Salmon

6. Milk Produced with Artificial Hormones

7. Conventional Apples

Go here to read the entire article.

~ by Allison on February 22, 2010.

3 Responses to “Planet Green: 7 Foods So Unsafe Even Farmers Won’t Eat Them”

  1. Wow! I had no idea that canned tomatoes were unsafe. I knew about 2 and 4-6, but the others were a shock. Thanks for posting!

    • You’re welcome!

      And canned tomatoes never occurred to me either, although it makes sense when you think about it. And microwave popcorn too. It’s so easy to just assume that if the FDA allows it on the shelves that it should be fine for us.

  2. After reading your post, I was taken back by the article you referred to. As a young woman who was born and raised in Indiana, I come from a large farming community and also belong to a family of farmers and I will say that every item on that list, all farmers i know, consume. I agree with the fact that factory farming is gross and many of those items on that list are things I try to stay away from; but in Indiana, it is like pulling teeth to try to find organic potatoes. The idea of organic farming is just beginning to take off in the urban settings and is still viewed negatively in the rural areas.

    My grandfather actually thinks it is odd to not feed a cow corn. Why would you do that he says…the corn gives you the nice marble of fat.

    ewww.. I know.

    I was just searching for different environmental related blogs from different areas of the country and I stumbled upon yours. I am really interested in seeing how the environmental movement is affecting different areas as well as what the most prominent topics are in the given region. In Indiana, it has been extremely difficult to get the environmental community heard. We are the only state in the nation that hasn’t passed a renewable energy law and when one tells other that they are vegetarian or vegan, blank stares follow.

    It’s good to see that in other parts of the country, these topics are moving toward the norm; it gives me hope for Indiana.

Leave a Reply

 
