Farmer’s Market Win!

On Saturday, I went to a farmer’s market on route 46 in New Jersey that my friend Tracie told me about.  It’s an indoor place that’s open all year round and it. is. awesome.  I almost laughed with glee when my total came to a little over $25 for all of this:

Head of leaf lettuce (sooo fresh)
Five tomatoes
Red seedless grapes (the best I’ve tasted since summer)
One avocado
Two cucumbers
Bag of fuji apples
Bunch of bananas
One white onion
Three Idaho potatoes
One sweet potato
Head of cauliflower
One bunch of asparagus
Two bags of baby carrots
One mango
Two large leeks
A block of tofu (for under $2!)
Two cartons of vegetable broth (low sodium even)
Two dinner rolls
A package of potato and spinach Gnocci
A container of Asian snack mix

There might have been more, but that’s what I can remember off the top of my head.  I’m not someone who really knows what good prices are for things like produce, but I have to believe that $25 for all of this is a steal.  So if you live in the North Jersey area you have to check this place out.  It’s a little hard to find, but if you’re on 46 east it is after the 23/80 interchange and in the same turn off as the Saturn dealer.  Drive toward the dealer and then keep heading back and you’ll find it.  It looks a little sketchy but it’s worth it.  Happy shopping!

~ by Allison on February 9, 2010.

Leave a comment